Don’t Think. Just Go.

This is what I repeat to myself over and over when I’m trying to get myself to work out. I’m extremely good at coming up with different rationalizations for not working out. Here are some of my favorites:

  • You’ve worked hard (even if I’m still in bed). Give yourself a break.
  • You can go later.
  • You don’t want to strain yourself or burn out pushing yourself too hard.
  • It’s windy out.
  • It’s cold out.
  • It’s too nice out to work out.
  • Swimming sucks.

Unfortunately, I need to start swimming more often. So this afternoon, I got out of my cycling class and stopped myself from thinking about how I can just swim tomorrow. Don’t think. Just go. Put on your suit. Don’t think. Just grab your stuff. Just go to the pool. Do 8 laps. Just 8. That’s 400 yards. Don’t think. Just do it.

Today was an especially tough day for me. My legs feel heavy after the weekend and I’m tired from packing (I’m moving this weekend). After one tough hour on a spin bike and 15 minutes of thrashing around in a pool trying not to drown in 3 feet of water I got in my car to drive literally the 2 blocks back to my apartment. I feel so slow, weak, and tired that I almost cried.

I remember when I was training for my first marathon. I was nervous, but fortunately there is little chance of drowning while running for 26.2 miles.

During training, I know it’s normal to have days where you feel good and days you don’t feel as good. Today was the first day where I strongly feel like I might have bitten off more then I can chew. What do you do to get over that feeling?

Don’t Think. Just Go.

Leave a Reply

